top of page
  • The Hawkeye

NHS Reflection

By Emily Dunford


As my time at Newtown High School quickly dwindles down into mere weeks, there is a lot to be said about my time here. As I advance onto the next step in my future, a period of self reflection comes along with it. Looking back, these past four years have been notable.

The words, “I can not wait to leave Newtown”, and “Newtown is the worst,” are often thrown around in the hallways, mostly by seniors. I often ponder when hearing these statements, as my feelings on Newtown have stayed consistent throughout the years. Newtown has offered numerous opportunities for me alongside my peers, whether it be in academics, athletics, or community service, the options have been endless. Our picturesque town has never been a bother to me. Newtown has provided me with friends to last a lifetime and a beautiful place for my family to live. Nothing can beat seeing Eunice at Bagel Delight or a drive past the Flagpole. In the end, the weekends that seem “so repetitive” will be memories that we tell our children about.

During my time at NHS I have been on the dance team, culminating with my selection as captain this past fall.. The dance team has been something that I look forward to being a part of and competing with each year. As an incoming freshman coming into the high school, the team provided me with people I could turn to when I didn’t understand the schedule or know where the gymnasium was. The team has always been close and has provided me with countless memories and friends. To me, hearing Mr. Edwards calling your name over the loudspeaker in the Blue and Gold Stadium as the crowd roars with applause is one of the most fulfilling feelings. Dancing at athletic events made me feel more integrated in the NHS and the Newtown community as a whole as well as provided me with friends and memories that are everlasting.

At my freshman orientation in the summer of 2018, my link crew leaders shared many words of advice, but two especially stuck with me. The first was that the friend group you have freshman year will not be the same as senior year. I could not fathom having different friends than I did in middle school. Low and behold, my friend group did change. The friendships did not end because of some drama, but just because we outgrew each other. A part I love about Newtown is that everyone is so close and you never really lose touch with anyone even when you are not close friends anymore.

The second piece of advice that stuck with me was that high school goes by quickly. I was a close-minded freshman when I heard these words be repeatedly said to me and honestly disregarded them completely. Now, I look back and remember myself sitting in the gymnasium and it feels like yesterday. The years flew by faster than I imagined, but the days were seemingly long and jam packed. From club meetings, to test, to practice, to a home basketball game there was always something going on.

Going into my senior year, I felt uneasy. I felt as though I had lost time and memories due to COVID. Being home and losing the simple everyday activities like seeing your friends in the hall meeting in the lobby before lunch were gone. I had felt like this year had to be full of events and activities to make up for it. Nonetheless, I have filled my senior year with attendance to sports games, hangouts with friends, or just going out to dinner with my family at a local restaurant. In the fall, the thought of leaving all I had known, and starting something new made me clench. But in just four short months I will be walking across the stage to accept my diploma and feel ready to take on the next chapter of my life along with seeing my peers advance in their future as well.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page