top of page

New Year's Resolutions

Newtown High School students and faculty feel that keeping New Year’s resolutions are a waste of time and unnecessary because people rarely keep them. 

Almost every American has tried making a resolution on New Year's Day but they almost always fall through the cracks. Studies have been done to show that only 9% of Americans will complete their resolution every year. 

After many interviews from students at NHS, it is obvious to see that New Year’s resolutions are in fact a “waste of time.”

Gjin Abazi, NHS Senior and member of the NHS soccer team, was asked how he felt about making New Year’s Resolutions and if they are worth the effort.

“I believe that New Year’s Resolutions serve no purpose in our society. Every time that I try to make one I have never kept the promise. I remember 1 year I made a resolution to go to the gym at least 4 times a week and I went strong for about 3 weeks and then gave up. My problem was that I had other commitments like soccer and school that got in the way of my resolution so it made it really difficult for me. That could be a popular problem with some people having other commitments.”

Abazi thinks that the main reason people don’t live up to their resolutions is because they have other commitments they feel the need to follow. Abazi is a busy person playing soccer all year round and trying to maintain a high GPA in school making it difficult for him to follow through with his resolution.

Since Abazi believes that commitments get in the way of completing your resolution, Connor Muir, NHS senior and another member of the NHS soccer team, was asked “What is the main issue with New Year's Resolutions” to see if he has the same problem as Abazi.

“I think New Year’s resolutions are wastes of time because you spend so much time thinking about how you are going to better your life but you never take the time to work on yourself. I think people don’t stand behind their promises because it’s easier to say you're going to do this or that rather than take time to actually do it.”

Muir believes that people struggle with performing their resolution rather than not having time for it. 

“Everyone has times in their life where they get lazy and don’t want to do something and that’s what I think is the leading cause for resolution failure,” Muir said.

New Year’s resolutions are almost never fulfilled, but why is that? Dhilan Amin, NHS Senior, was asked “Why don’t Americans keep their resolutions?”

“Even though it is a new year, nothing really changes. People who wait until the New Year to start a resolution probably aren’t motivated to continue with it because they weren’t doing it before. There’s no good time to start a resolution, you just have to do it. I have a saying that I like to keep in the back of my mind at all times and that is ‘One day or day one’ and I believe that this quote fits perfectly with this situation.”

Amin believes that just because it’s a new year, it doesn’t mean people will just automatically get motivation.

Madeline Hossler, NHS faculty member, was asked if she made a new year's resolution this year and what it was.

“I didn’t actually make a resolution this year and haven’t made one since I was told to in maybe fourth grade. I just don’t see the point in making them because no one actually lives up to them. To me it is a waste of time thinking about how I want to start the year on the right track when I can start doing anything whenever I want.”

It is very clear to see the position that students and faculty of NHS have on the topic of New Year's Resolutions.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page